Grief of self

I didn’t have many breakthrough moments in therapy, but learning this concept was a massive step in understanding my emotions after cancer.

My psychologist explained that a lot of my feelings were linked to grief.

I was confused. Nobody I knew had died?? Was I grieving the people who didn’t survive Ewing’s sarcoma? Was this part of survivor’s guilt?

Then she told me who I was grieving; my pre-cancer self. And that made a lot of sense.

I was grieving ‘pre-cancer me’. I missed her. I missed her innocence and freedom.

I hadn’t realised this before. I’d never seen anything about grieving ‘the old you’, but it made so much sense.

All the feelings that come with grief; hopelessness, feeling lost, feeling broken, the feeling that you’d give anything to have them back… I was feeling all of these things for pre-cancer me.

This allowed me to treat myself like someone who is grieving, I started treating myself with compassion and understanding rather than judgement and hatred – this really changed a lot for me.

I truly believe that this is a key concept to understand in the movement of improving our treatment of people in cancer remission as a worldwide community. When we understand the perspective, we understand the actions that ‘don’t make sense’ – everyone grieves in their own way.

Published by sophsurvives

Writing about my experience to help improve understanding of what’s its really like to live in childhood cancer remission. (The good, the bad, and the ugly included)

6 thoughts on “Grief of self

  1. I am not a cancer survivor, but the idea of grieving the “old me” makes a lot of sense. At age 21 in 2007, I landed in a psychiatric crisis That led to a very long (9 1/2 years) mental hospital stay. I’ve never been able to pick up the life I had before or recover the functioning I had before. So yeah, I grieve for my pre-crisis self. I understand with cancer, it’s 100 times worse and I don’t mean to belittle your experience.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started