The suffocation of mundanity in remission life

A big aspect of remission I struggle with is day to day mundanity. My mind leaps to the thought that I should be doing something amazing and life altering when I’m out food shopping or at my day job. Sometimes I ask myself ‘what’s the point?’ Why don’t I do something crazy and try to end this cycle?

It’s not really that simple though, is it?

You’ve got to go to school, earn money, and feed yourself in order to survive and ultimately increase your quality of life.

I yearn for adventures and push myself to live life to the max, but lack of money and energy halt that being a feasible reality. You can only stay unemployed for a little while until money runs out. You can only say yes to so many plans before you burn out.

I struggle to see the purpose of repetitive tasks that don’t bring me joy, like washing-up or putting clothes away. This may seem strange to people that know me well, as I am a very clean and tidy type.

The trick that I have found in initially forcing myself, then doing, then somewhat enjoying these mundane tasks is the elevated mood I will experience afterwards. Instead of thinking about the washing-up as the task, I think of it as a temporary stepping stone to enjoying space and cleanliness in my kitchen. Instead of dreading putting my clothes away, I focus on the joy of having a whole wardrobe full of my favourite clean clothes.

I still find day-to-day life often overwhelming in its mundanity, and overall repetitive nature, but I know that if I were to go on an adventure to break this up, I would have all my favourite clothes ready to take with me, and everything will be okay at home if I go.

So, here’s to spontaneous benders, and looking fabulous during them!

Published by sophsurvives

Writing about my experience to help improve understanding of what’s its really like to live in childhood cancer remission. (The good, the bad, and the ugly included)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started